Hello fellow fish friends

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

wayfareranima

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am not exactly new to fishkeeping, I used to be the maintenance manager for the 3600L sump system aquarium at my old job, in a big box pet store. I was constantly advocating for the proper care of Bettas and Goldfish in particular, as they are by far the bestselling and least understood of all the freshwater fish where I live, {Sydney, Aus}.
If someone came in for a goldfish or fighter, you can almost guarantee that they wanted to keep it in the least practical of containers.
I am now a vet nurse and have been slowly getting back into fishkeeping as a hobby.
I have typically only kept male and female Bettas, (separately, in fully cycled, heated, planted tanks) and now am attempting to breed guppies in similar conditions (harder water tho).
Initially for fun, but I would love to be able to turn it into a side hustle.
I have four tanks that have been set up, treated and running since Oct/23 - 70L, 28L, 21L and an 11L qt.
I am looking for a secondhand 120-140L tank to add to this set up, because I simply cannot afford it new (Vet nurses don't get paid well).
Male and female guppies are separated, 3 boys in the 21L, 4 girls in the 28L.
The 70L currently only has one comet in it.
I know she needs more space, but she was a rescue fish that actually predates all the guppies I have, she came from terrible conditions and has actually thrived in the 70L planted tank.
I donā€™t often mix species of fish.
I cringe when I read about community tanks with multiple different types, seems like a big risk with too many unknown factors. The very most I have ever considered combining is neon/cardinal tetrasin a school of eight with something like a female Betta.
But have yet to do it, especially since learning about neon tetra disease.