Hello and help please

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Rosierover

Reaction score
Hi and thanks for letting me join.

I have been keeping plattys for about 4 years and have been very fortunate that we have not had any problems until now.

We introduced a new male with our 8 young females, or at least we thought we had 8 females. It became apparent very quickly that one female developed into a male and he was dominant. Another female appeared to be making the transition to male at the same time. Iā€™m not even sure if this is possible! Now the one who was almost male appeared to become pregnant about 2 months ago? However she/he is not looking well at all and I donā€™t know what to do. I have added a photo but it was taken on my phone and he/she was swimming about quite merrily.

We have a 64ltr tank with 7/8 female plattys, 2 x zebra snails and 2 x red spotted snails.

The dominant male is now in another tank as he got very aggressive with all the girls.

Weekly 20% water change and fed on freeze dried brine shrimp,
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 0ppm
Ammonia 0.25ppm remover added

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 0367A65E-924A-4A4D-9319-C48B37A057A1.jpeg
    0367A65E-924A-4A4D-9319-C48B37A057A1.jpeg
    37.1 KB · Views: 157
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Young male platies look like females until they mature. Then their anal fin changes shapes and turns into a long thin tube shaped fin called a gonopodium (modified anal fin used to impregnate female fish with sperm packets).

-------------------
re: the fish in the picture. What does the anal fin on this fish normally look like?
The tail and dorsal fin looked pretty chewed up. Is that from fighting with the bigger male?