Gravel change and filters

JakeD

Reaction score
Hello everyone this is my first time here. I have a 200litre tank. I changed my tank gravel yesterday to some new much smaller gravel and have planted 8 plants. ( I bought the tank a few months ago with everything in it and wanted to make it personal to me now). It currently runs an internal filter but I have bought a secondhand fluval 306 with media already it it. Just wondered when it would be safe and ok to changed the filter over as I kept the internal one running once the gravel change was done.

I’m new to all this just trying to learn as much as I can any advice and help would be great. Thank you

I would disinfect the secondhand filter and wash everything in it. Throw any carbon (black granules) or Zeolite (white granules) away and replace them with a sponge.

When the new (secondhand) filter is clean, put it on the aquarium and let them both run for a few months before removing the smaller internal one. Or put the filter media/ materials from the smaller filter into the newer filter and just run the new one.

I would disinfect the secondhand filter and wash everything in it. Throw any carbon (black granules) or Zeolite (white granules) away and replace them with a sponge.

When the new (secondhand) filter is clean, put it on the aquarium and let them both run for a few months before removing the smaller internal one. Or put the filter media/ materials from the smaller filter into the newer filter and just run the new on

When the new (secondhand) filter is clean, put it on the aquarium and let them both run for a few months before removing the smaller internal one. Or put the filter media/ materials from the smaller filter into the newer filter and just run the new one.
Thank you so much, just wondered what type of sponge should I add to the secondhand filter?