Dirty filter. Fish scratching.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Tercio

Reaction score
Hi all,

My JBL e901 filter has been running for 4 months now.
My fish were scratching on the gravel and plants, really worried about a parasite or so.

Have cleaned it now with aquarium water, and a lot of muck came out of it. It was not clocked or so,
water was streaming ok.

Can a dirty filter cause ammonia and nitrite spikes so that the scratching of the fish would rather be caused by the filter not anything else?

Thanks for your answers

Unless the filter was blocked, no, it wouldn't.

Have you tested the water, and if so, what were the results? What's your usual water change regimen?

I change 20% every week.
Really I need to get a test set for PH, GH, KH, Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrates. Should be the key tests.
Correct me if I'm wrong on getting al those test, I'm a beginner, but really I want the best of the best for my fish.

You don't really need tests for hardness (KH and GH), as they stay pretty much the same; if you have hard water, it's not going to suddenly soften. Your supplier's website will tell you how hard or soft your local water is.

You do, definitely, need the other tests though. Most fish health problems come down to water quality. Even scratching and 'flashing' can be caused by poor water, or the wrong hardness for the fish species you have.

What fish species do you have? Are they all scratching, or just some? How often do they do it, roughly? What substrate do you have?

The basic tests are ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH. Tests for GH and KH are not necessary unless you are adjusting these parameters [I'll come back to this momentarily]. API puts out a "Master Combo" liquid test kit that has all four necessary tests, and it is a good initial investment.