Moderate Moderating Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator āš’ļø
Reaction score
Hi,
Ā 
Have started the process of fishless cycling my 90LĀ (20g) tank
happy.png
. Not something I've done before as this is my first time doing this.
Ā 
Have noticed that there is quite a bit of algae starting to grow on my live plants. Some green algae on leaves and also some white very thin stringy type algae, sorry do not know what types of algae they are
blush.png

Ā 
Am only a week into the fishless cycling process and have had 2x t8 15w lights on for 8 hours a day, every day. Also there is a bit of indirect sunlight going in tank as well.
Ā 
My question is, do you need the lights on for fishless cycling as I think the lights may be encouraging algae growth?
Ā 
I've tried to find out through this forum but cant seem to find anything with lighting during cycling process!
huh.png

Ā 
Any help or tips will be greatly appreciated.
Ā 
Thanks

Attachments

• Tank.jpg
    Tank.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 167
Lillefishy - Thanks, that basically confirms what I thought what was happening. Will now leave the lightts off until fishless cycle is finishedĀ 
thanks.gif

By the way in case you weren't already aware, three of your plants are non-aquatic (the ones with red and white edges).

daizeUK - Really?
sad2.gif
Ā I bought all these plant from the same source - Pets at HomeĀ 
blink.png

Ā 
Can you tell me which plants are you referring to? I can only see one plant that has any red on it, one at front left corner.
Will probably feel like such a kluntz when you point themĀ out for me!
blush.png

Ā 
Even if they are non-aquatic plants, what will happen? Will they die off or something?
Ā 
ThanksĀ 

The green & white ones are draecaena & the green one with red edges is a cordyline, they're houseplants, they'll eventually rot.
A lot of Lfs sell them as aquaticI wish they wouldn't

Now, that actually annoys me that LFS (Pets at Home) sold me these knowing full well am doing a tropical fish tank!