Zebra Danio And Neon Tetra?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Smyth

Reaction score
hi I have a small tank ad I have 4 neon tetra at the moment, I would like to add some zebra danio to my tank soon, I have a few questions..

1.do zebra danio's and neon tetra's get along (don't fight or eat each other).

2. How many zebra danio? I do have a small tank btw with 4 neon tetra

3. Are they easy to care for?

4. I crush up fish flakes for my neon tetra really small because its normally too big, will zebra danio eat the same food (size) too?

5. ( random question ) if bring water to a pet shop, do you bring it in a plastic bag? And should I do a water change first?

Thanks for your help, sorry if I seem a bit 'thick' in some of the questions I'm new at this kinda thing :hyper:

hey will get along and eat the same food. but it really depends on how small your tank is. how many gallons is it?

hey will get along and eat the same food. but it really depends on how small your tank is. how many gallons is it?
Don't know Actually, will try and dig out the box later, it is small though, fits on my desk and take about 10 minutes to fill, think its under 30 litres :blink:

Don't know Actually, will try and dig out the box later, it is small though, fits on my desk and take about 10 minutes to fill, think its under 30 litres :blink:

30 liters... hmm, what is that in American...

A little more than 7 gallons. Danios do better with more room to swim.

too small for danios IMO. They are highly active and need plenty of room to swim......3ft long tank would be the smallest I would recommend.

Equivalent to about 10 large Coke's at an American Maccy Dees :D

Sorry but a litre is a pretty standard unit of measurement worldwide? But yeah, it's about 6.5 to 7 US gallons.

Haha I hope you're not serious. A gallon can be imperial or US but a litre is a litre is a litre the world over. Apart from America apparently where its a liter!