Yet Another Stocking Thread - Sorry!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

ENWOD

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to this and have always wanted an aquarium so bit the bullet and here we are.

Bought a Dennerle Scapers tank (50L - 45x35x31 WxDxH) a few months ago. Originally went for an internal filter and then changed my mind when I no longer liked the look and now have an Eheim 2213.

I've fishless cycled for the last two months-ish, had some algae issues along the way and I'm now reasonably settled and introduced x6 Red Cherry Shrimp and two nerites a few days ago (The nerites arrived not in the best of shape with one dead and the nitrite content of their shipping water was sky high and it looks like I've now lost the second).

This looks to be the reason as the shrimp are loving it and continuously chowing down on the remaining algae in the tank.

Anyway - to the point.

I'd like to introduce some fish (once I know I'm able to keep the shrimp alive). The tank is planted with HC carpet, ranunculus inundatus, Pogostemon erectus, Fissidens fontanus and some algae...

I've been reading and all of the calculators say I should be able to have the following:

x10 Celestial Pearl Danios
x3 Oto's

However, I'd like to know whether this is going to be too much/unfair on the fish and whether I'm better having x2 Oto's and possibly less Danios or whether this is also cruel as I've read the Oto's like to be in 3's or more?

Any help and feedback is appreciated :)

Cheers.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Welcome to the forum
smile.png

Is your water hard or soft? Your two chosen species really like two differing kinds of water; the CPD like it hard(ish) and the otos prefer it soft.

Thanks for the prompt reply and welcome;

Forgot to include that info; I have hard water (Down in Essex)