White Spots

nayrundi

Reaction score
i have two male guppies that always stay to the top of the tank next to the filter and heater,have now noticed small white spots on there body's and fins. what could be causing this... ?

Not enough water changes? Un-cycled tank? What are you water stats like?

Hi nayrundi, welcome to the forum.

I'm going to have to ask you some more questions to sort out what your problem might be.

How large is the tank, how long has it been set up, what are the inhabitants and was the tank cycled?

White spots are disease called 'Ich' which is a little parastic worm. It is often caused by poor water quality; have you tested the water at all or done a water change?

i have had the tank for about 2 weeks and have changed the water twice. The tank is 22" by 12", i did have 8 neons and the 2 guppies but now im left with 2 guppies and only 2 neons. The day we got the tank we cleaned it and put water with water ager in it and put the fish in it. Im new at this so i dont no what Un-cycled tank or stats mean. and we are also on tank water if that helps.. ?

Your tank isn't cycled; that means growing enough good bacteria in your filter to eat the ammonia from the fish pee.

'Stats' means how much of the harmful substances ammonia and nitrite are in your water.

What you need to do is buy yourself a test kit; one of the ones with a test tube, not the paper strip ones, they're not accurate enough. If you can afford a master test kit that can test for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate that would be best, but the ammonia one is most important right now, as that will be what is making your fish sick. Test the water every day, and if there's any ammonia in there, do a big water change so that it's as near to zero as you can get it.
Change 50% every day until you can get the test.

You'll also need some white spot or 'ich' medicine from your fish shop. Use that as per the instructions, but remember that those instructions will be for cycled tanks.