What Type Of Lighting Do I Need?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

thefirefly07

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I am new to growing plants in my tank but I have started. I have a 36gal bow front tank. Plant wise I currently have Java fern, A red flame sword, a red tiger lotus plant, bolbitis, onion plants, and some anubias. My java fern and anubias is doing awesome. No decay in the leaves or anything. My onion plants bulbs are doing great. Keep sprouting new bulbs but the leaves keep decaying :( All of my other plants are also decaying/dying :( As of right now I have a t8 bulb that is made specifically for plant growth. I know they say you are suppose to have 1watt per gallon for low light plants and 2-3 for medium light plants. I found out that a lot of the plants that are dying are ones that require medium light and my light does not provide enough of that. I am looking into buying a new light fixture that will hold at least 2 t5 bulbs. I was actually looking at this one:

https://www.google.com/shopping/product/2536407373528221551?sclient=psy-ab&q=aquarium+t5+light+fixtures+30in&oq=aquarium+t5+light+fixtures+30in&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_cp.r_qf.&bvm=bv.67229260,d.aWw,pv.xjs.s.en_US.gRoiL82AyiQ.O&biw=1600&bih=799&tch=1&ech=1&psi=eBd-U5yjNIqvyAS0jIG4DA.1400772473229.9&sa=X&ei=7Rd-U7n8N8W0yASwgIKoBA&ved=0CMsBEPMCMAU

I am unsure as to what kind of bulbs I should get that will provide substantial lighting for my plants. I am only going to stick to low-medium lighted plants in this tank. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Especially when it comes to fertilizing tips, etc!! Never done this before so I do not know much about it yet :/