Wally's 60l Journal

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

wally6346

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I've never done a journal before but here goes!
I've gone from the worst a tank could possibly look when I changed my substrate to something far more acceptable!! Its been set up for 3 days now with the new substrate, now with more plants.

The tank is a Tetra Aquaart, and I have just ran a new filter in to replace the standard one (which created too muc surface agitation). Now I have a Hydor Cystal Duo 2011 which is working a treat.

This is along with two Nutrafin CO2 kits, both at 1 bubble per 4 seconds, which I plan to change alternatively to keep the levels more stable. I have added more lighting to give me 2WPG thanks to the wonderful help of Sam. The eco-complete looks far better than the blue substrate I used to have, obviously with the added bonus of being good for the plants!!!

Currently, I am left with all my old fish (gratefully after the shake up!!) which are:
3 amano shrimp,
2 Platies
5 Guppy fry
1 Bristlenose plec
1 Honey Gourami
2 Bronze cory
1 Sterbai cory

I intend to get a group of ottos and more shrimp

The plants are:
Ludwigia arcuata
Cardamine lyrata
Cryptocoryne bullosa
Vallis (unsure of which sort)
Cabomba
Micranthemum micranthoides (foreground)

Here are some pictures from the changeover through to the current setup:

Attachments

• for_my_avatar.JPG
    for_my_avatar.JPG
    35.8 KB · Views: 103
  • oh_dear.JPG
    oh_dear.JPG
    20.2 KB · Views: 115
  • 3.5.07.jpg
    3.5.07.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 108
More pics of current:

Attachments

• STA60075.JPG
    STA60075.JPG
    16.7 KB · Views: 98
  • STA60071.JPG
    STA60071.JPG
    52 KB · Views: 105
  • STA60076.JPG
    STA60076.JPG
    31 KB · Views: 103
Another picture, looks a bit better in the dark!

Attachments

• STA60077.JPG
    STA60077.JPG
    95.7 KB · Views: 107