To Move Krib Fry Or Not To Move..

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

QuotheRaven

Something smells humany
Reaction score
I have 31 kribensis fry at an average size of 3 cm each in a tank that is 32 gallons with tank mates of 4 kuhlii loaches and there 3 inch krib mother...now thats overstocked...so I need to move them because I cannot get better filtration or anything to control ammonia spikes...the problem is my rendahls catfish MIGHT be able to eat them. He can get 3/4 of half a hikari wafer in his mouth which is about 3/4 the size of my krib fry...could it be safe....there are many hiding spots for small fish in the tank though....

Unfortunately, I can't comment on the tank mate as I have no experience of those catfish.

However, I had about 20 juveniles in a 15 gallon tank, approximately 0.5 to 1 inch each until the largest started reaching 1.5 to 2 inch and I could get them off to the lfs. I wouldnt want to do it again but I was low on money and space and it was either that or let the parents kill them. Originally there were about 25-30 fry so the survival rate was quite impressive although I did have an oversized filter for the tank (cycled the tank water about 10 times per hour iirc). I just provided about 7 caves and frequent water changes. They are fairly hardy and can survive in a wide variety of water conditions. I would be more concerned with the adult female being in the same tank as them once they are looking after themselves than the fact that they are in a 32 gallon. The female will constantly be chasing them off and they will nip her fins, well kribs each have their own personalities so you can never be 100% sure but that is what has happened in my experience.