Tetras - Small School

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

daniellaandrea22

Reaction score
Hey all! Am new here.
So appreciate this forum and community. I am very new to it all and came into this by accident, but am already very in love with the hobby. If anyone has a chance, I have two questions I haven't been able to figure out.

3 "Glofish" tetras (I believe genetically modified from Longfin Black Skirt tetras) recently came into my care. They were found in a tank on a stoop in Brooklyn late at night, so sad!.

Because the tank they were left in was a bit small (10 gall) and just filthy with untouched food/waste, no filter/heater, I felt that it would be better to get them into a new tank sooner rather than later and do a fish-in cycle, though I know it's not preferred (I was not planning to have fish at all, but didn't want to leave them). I followed steps I read online for acclimating fish into a new tank. Now, I am currently trying to do the fish-in cycle with Seachem Prime and Stability. I think it's going ok according to readings, but it's been 6 days since I found them, and one of them has been swimming on his side. It's gotten a bit better the last two days, but is this a sign of an infection? Still eating but seemingly having a bit of trouble. The other two are much more active.

My second question was about the number of fish for the tank size. The new tank they are in is 20 gall (long). I was panicking a bit when I got everything, since it was so rushed, but is this big enough for tetras? If so, is it advisable to add 2 more so they have a proper school? One of the two larger fish sometimes seem to chase the smaller one and I've read that this calms down when they're in larger numbers. With all the new things going on for them though, I don't want to add more stress.

Thank you so much for the time and help!