Starting Over Again

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

McCool

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Puffers have always been one, if not my favorite, fish out there. I've planned to have a puff tank over and over again and even got pretty close one time. But here I am again Like always, and I really want to make it work this time. I want to plan everything out since I can't do anything yet anyways, and since I've never done brackish before I thought I'd get some help.

I'm aiming at a 15 or 20 gallon, something short. No tall tanks! Ideally I want a single Figure Eight puff and maybe a few bumblebee gobies if I do go for the 20 gallon. I'd like to try and use my canister filter. It's a Fluval, but I forget which model. It's rated for 60 gallons I believe. I'm using driftwood, and I'd like to plant it. Nothing crazy. Java Fern, Vals, Tiger Lotus. From the things I've read these are fairly good with low brackish, and I've always had excellent luck with growth rate in FW with them.

So to my questions, and I'll apologize in advance on the number of them. While I do have a little experience with salt water, I am clueless when it comes to plants and brackish.

1) For the plants listed, what sort of substrate should I use? I'd like to avoid any types like "eco-complete." So far those types have only made a mess for me. Sand is preferable, if at all possible.

2) Any other type of plants that do well in 1.005 salinity and grow fairly quickly?

3) Any ideas on lighting? I'd like moderate lighting atleast, and LEDs are preferable. If anyone knows of any good ones please let me know!

4) Will I need CO2? I've seen conflicting things with this regarding algae. I plan on planting the tank fairly heavily if that makes a difference.

5) Opinions on tank size? I know 15 gallons is the minimum, but would a single F8 work as long as it's heavily filtered and heavily planted with lots of driftwood hidey holes?