siamese fighting fish

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

djbcrazy

Reaction score
Hello,

My partner and I have been keeping fish for many years. And our passion now for some 2-3 years has been these glorious siamese fighting fish.
We would like to breed them.
We do not at present have any females, only 11 males.
Where should we start? and any help/advice would be a major help.

Thank you for reading

DJ

Try PMing a mod and get them to move this to the Betta section. You will get lots of advice there.

thank you for help but what is a mod?
Sorry must have been having a blonde moment.
I guess you mean a moderator.
I shall go and ask in the other forum. Thank you

None are online at the moment, try WuvMyBetta (moderator of the betta section) or CFC (he seems to keep popping up tonight). Be warned, spawns can reach the 500 region, although lower numbers are more common you must consider the room requirements of 50 or so more males that need to be individually housed, the maintenence of 75% water changes every day and the large cost of... well, everything. There is a pinned topic in the FAQ section, also do a Google search :)

To breed bettas:

You'll need a harem of atleast five NICE female bettas. Bettas are very picky maters.
Take your nicest male and nicest female. Put them in bowls- or ideally in an aquarium with a clear divider of some sort so they can see eachother clearly. Its very clear if they are both interested. The male and female should both have some kind of floating plant such as hornwort or anacharis, and the male should already have a bubblenest in his bowl or enclosure as he will need this for the eggs (you probably know that)