Setting up new tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Tifi

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a complete beginner at fish keeping and have never had any so lots of questions to come. My mother-in-law got her first tank and set up a year or two ago and she's upgraded to a bigger tank but she's just ended up with baby guppies so the plan is for me to take a few of them to start me off. (From reading I assume I'm better taking only?).

She has given me information regarding setting the tank up with water etc and is going to come over and help me sort that/test it etc. I'm in Scotland and our water is soft. She's bringing sand over for me to put in the bottom.

The tank I have is Fishbox LED 30L
Would I be overstocking if I wanted to add Peppered Cory (or any types of catfish) and neon tetra. These are some of the fish we've seen and liked but I've no idea how many fish I can comfortably have or which species.

I'd like to put a few interesting things in the tank for the fish but again don't want to overdo it so I thought a couple of ornaments where they can swim in and out of and depending on how easy they are to manage - a plant or two?

Does any of this sound reasonable?
(I've tried reading as much as I can and I'm feeling a little overwhelmed with setting up/stocking the tank and feeding).

Any information is appreciated (I know my MIL will help but I like to know what I'm doing too)

30 liters is about 8 gallons, right? If so, too small for Cory because they are usually happiest in a group of six. If I am wrong about the size my apologies. Had to whip out a conversion calculator as I’m used to gallons. Ha ha.

This is a good first reference http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/421488-cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first