Re-Setting up tank

Fantast Bronson

Reaction score
I've just had a bad time in my tank. I'm a newbie and have made some mistakes regarding decor. I.e. a piece of bog wood that was not soacked before it got in the tank :( and I'm sure in other areas to!!!!!
Any way........ I have 4 Dwarf Guramies, 4 Gold Guramies, 4 Black Widows, 2 chinese alge eaters, 2 Platy, 1 male guppy and 2 female. It's a 28 uk gal. tank. I'm currentley struggeling with the ph 6,4 to 6,6 want it up to 7.0, but it's comming up slowley :) I bought a book to find out what spices goes well together, but it is a very confusing book :blink: . I was hoping that somebody could give me some pointers, any pointers, to what is a good setup and what fishis works well together. I like the guramies but I havent got any special prefs.I f they play jazz it would be appriciated B)
Thanks

I bought a book to find out what spices goes well together, but it is a very confusing book
I think parsley and thyme go well together :rofl:

Sorry, couldn't resist :*)
I'm not too good with fish combinations so i wouldn't like to give any wrong advice. From the sounds of it though you've got quite a few fish already, do you have room for more or were you thinking of trading some?

With your current fish you have a good combination for a nice peacful community tank However basically all your fish are middle - top fish so you will need some bottom feeders otherwise your tank will start to look like a chinese kitchen very soon....

I suggest maybe getting a bristlenose catfish (even a baby one can clean huge tanks in a matter of days). How about a small group of corydoryas? 3 would be nice.

However, before thinking about getting more fish I suggest you buy yourself a proper water testing kit if you dont have one already (£19.99) and test all the parameters of the water and only add more fish when the levels are fine. Adding more fish will only make the situation worse.