Pleco Eating Paint Off Decorations!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Besty42

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting on tropical fish forums.

For the last couple of weeks I have started noticing white patches on my fake log decorations. I have recently added a rusty Pleco to the tank and was wondering if he was the cause of the missing paint. These are fish tank decorations so figure that the paint won't do him much harm but I'd prefer to check just in case they need to be removed, their health comes first.

Today I added a small piece of driftwood to the tank to hopefully stop him having a nibble on the fake decors. I soaked it in boiling water for three or four hours- took out-scrubbed in cold water-put back in new hot water ( repeated a couple of times) till little to non tannins are leeched out.

I wasn't sure if this behaviour was normal in a rusty pleco. I do feed him cucumber regularly which he absolutely ADORES and algae wafers are added to the tank daily for him and the six corydoras ( 3 leopard and 3 adolfoi) which potter around the bottom of the tank ( not that they get much, my platys and tetras are EXTREMELY greedy fishies!)

Anyone have any advice on what to do?
Anyone have experience in this happening to them?

Send pictures soon, Love to get some feedback

Thanks

besty42

Yes, it'll be your plec removing the paint. He might not be actually eating it, just grinding it off and dropping it, and as you thought, it ought to be inert, but I would remove the fake logs, just to be on the safe side.

It might be an idea to vary his diet a bit more too; there's not much nutrition in cucumber! My plecs all like these; peas (lightly cooked and deshelled), blanched lettuce (a good green one, like cos, not iceberg), apple, broccoli stalks (split and blanched), melon rinds, tomato (end slices, without seeds), sweet potato (lightly cooked, just to soften it).