Please Can I Get Some Approval/denial On This Stocking Idea?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

marnold00

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to the hobby. I currently have a 60l tank cycling (I hope... please see my post in the cycle your tank section :/) And well I've got 4-5 weeks before I want to get any fish, giving me plenty of time to do my research. Oh yay, everybody and their mother appears to have asked for stocking advice on a 40-80l Tropical tank. Oh ****s there's different advice everywhere, and my ideas haven't been asked yet.

So, here we go.

The tank:
60l
Long (i believe thats the term?) 59cm wide, 30cm deep and 35cm tall

The stuff that isn't water:

a filter suitable for the size of tank - I won't say the name of the filter as I don't know the forum rules on this. It gets very good reviews on everybody's favourite shopping site which is also a forested region with a big river. 

A 100W heater which seems to keep the water at 26 degrees Celcius nicely.

Red sand substrate. Very nice and soft (I want to emphasise that it is soft. not that I really really really want some Cory's or anything................)

Some driftwood (eta tbc. Currently soaking in a bucket for the next two weeks)

Some real plants - this is my new project. I want a full living ecosystem. No fake plants for me :)

A lovely flourescent tube for daylight, and blue LEDs for night time.

some rocks

The water: