plants doable with this setup?

rcl

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am looking to set up either a 10g or 15g tall tank. So far I think I am going to be using sand as substrate (not positive yet), and I am going to get neon tetras and more than likely some kind of exotic dwarf-sized pleco (hopefully one that won't chew on the plants..). I am also looking to leave the top gallon or two of the tank dry, and to have frogs that go in and out of the water onto rocks jutting out of the water.

I want to plant this tank pretty well, but I have never done any plants before and I'm wondering what kind of plants would be good for this smaller tank? Also, I am planning to have snails in this tank. I know snails lay eggs on plants, but do they disrupt or eat them?

The lid for this tank is standard size for a 10g/15gtall tank and has space for 2 lights (each 1/2 the length of the lid); am I going to need expensive speciality lighting, and if so is it going to be very expensive to get these kinds of lights in this small size?

Is the care going to be difficult on these plants? I have read that many of them need 'root tabs' added, these won't be bad for my fish will they?

Confused in plant land,
Robert

The snails will likely eat some of the plant leaves (usually the decaying ones but...snails will be snails :p ) the fish should be OK with plants the only one that i have no experience with is the dwarf pleco. I know that the larger plecos will uproot everything in the tank just by there normal movement.
You say it hass 2 lights...which type(incandescent,flourescent,pc) if they are incandescent then yes you will need to go to at least flourescent bulbs usually try for 2.5-4 watts per gallon for a heavily planted tank (this depends on the types of plants you select)
The care is relative some plants are very fussy and require a lot of attention while others grow like weeds no matter what you do. But overall a planted tank requires more work than a non planted tank.