One Cichlid Moving Gravel, One's Hiding, Why?

mandem

Reaction score
I've posted this to a couple cichlid forums so sorry if you've already seen it. i don't want to wait until it's too late to get good advice. I'm new to cichlids and this past week 2 of them started acting differently. They're from lake malawi but i don't know exactly which species. i've been told by someone they are cynotilapia afra. The tank is established (30 gals) and i've had them in it for probably 2 months. One has dug several deep holes in the gravel and moved the rest against one side of the tank. Another is hiding in a hole in some drift wood and hasn't come out to eat in 4 or 5 days. i'm starting to get worried. Is this mating behavior? Do i need to somehow make sure the second one eats or is this normal? There are 5 others in the tank but their behavior hasn't changed. The gravel mover is larger and more aggressive, i've always assumed it was a male. The one hiding looks somewhat similar but is smaller and less colorful. I've always assumed it was female but don't know for sure. Any thoughts appreciated. Thanks. also, one of my yellow labs has lost almost all black coloring in his fins. yellow has faded a bit too... but is still eating and acting normal. does that mean anything? other lab hasn't changed.

Hello, I'll try to help you if I can. Moving gravel, this is perfectly normal for mbuna, they dig for spawning pits, territory, or just for the heck of it. If you had sand you'd see it a lot more. As for the one hiding, it is most like being bullied and is stressed and hiding. Unfortunately, 30 gallons is entirely too small for mbuna, you need to upgrade to 55gal or more as soon as possible, or rehome the fish. The one that is hiding can and will likely die from stress. Most likely the fading colors on your labs are from stress as well. Exactly how many fish and what species do you have in your tank?