Oak Leaf Litter

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰
Oak leaves are fine in general, the issue is whether they've been exposed to anything toxic to your fish such as pesticides or fungicides. It does say that they've been washed and sterilised. I suspect they're probably fine but the seller may be able to fill you in on the source enough to keep you happy.

Please note these leaves are washed and sterilised and are perfectly safe for use in the vivarium.
Sterilised with what? I've never used leaves before but know you can. However I'd be reluctant based on this statement. Not sure if someone else on the forum can advise or recommend some alternatives.

Indian almond leaves (catappa leaves). You can get a few different sizes, there are lots on eBay and fish seem to love them. They supposedly have antibiotic properties to. I just soak mine in boiling water, and after a few days of soaking they usually stay on the bottom, if not I just sprinkle some sand over them and they stay. They release tannins so if you want blackwater, you can also add the water they were soaking in, directly into the tank.

Electric Warrior said:
Indian almond leaves (catappa leaves). You can get a few different sizes, there are lots on eBay and fish seem to love them. They supposedly have antibiotic properties to. I just soak mine in boiling water, and after a few days of soaking they usually stay on the bottom, if not I just sprinkle some sand over them and they stay. They release tannins so if you want blackwater, you can also add the water they were soaking in, directly into the tank.

I was going to say 'No, i've looked into them, they are too expensive for the quantity I want'.

But I've just found this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Amys-100-LRG-INDIAN-ALMOND-CATAPPA-LEAVES-betta-discus-/380126989314?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Fish&hash=item5881558c02