New To Shrimp & Well Water

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Aqua67

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been keeping fish in planted tanks for over 30 years but have always lived in the city and used city water. Now I'm living in the country and have a well. We use potassium chloride and a product called Iron Out in our water softener. For this reason, I've been buying RO water remineralized for drinking, and using that for my fish tanks. The fish seem to be doing well.

I do have two hoses outside, one with softened water and the other with straight hard well water. I also collect water from a rain barrel but I've never used that water for anything except watering my garden. I hear some fish keepers use rainwater though.

I recently picked up a used aquarium with fish and along with it come products I've never really used before. Seachem Equilibrium is one of those products and I supposed I could use it as it should give the plants some of the things they need, possibly things that are missing from the RO water I am now using but I do have root tabs, liquid Flourish, and Flourish Excel. There is also API Proper pH. I don't know much about using these products.

My well water is 8.0 pH and TDS around 310. The RO water has TDS at 12 and pH was 6. Instead of mixing the two to get TDS around 180-200 for my shrimp tank, I'm probably better off just using the RO water and adding the shrimp salts. I really don't know the composition of the well water to make TDS around 310.

I have a 38 gallon tank with an Acara, bushynose pleco, 2 siamese algae eaters and several cories. Anubias (large and small), java fern, duckweed and crypts, plus one water sprite just put into the tank recently.