New To Saltwater

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Yuma

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey folks, brand new to the forums, been reading through lots of the forum posts, etc. so thought I'd post and see what sort of responses I received.

I've did freshwater tanks for a number of years, and after taking a break for a couple of years, I had some birthday money to spend and found what I think was a great deal on new tank and stand and decided I'm gonna give the saltwater a try.

It's a deep 60 gal tank(48"w x 13"d x 24"h), so far I've added 60 lbs of dry sand, a Marineland Penguin 350 power wheel bio-filter and 150W heater. I set it up yesterday and added the first round of biozyme at the recommendation of my local fish store.

Currently I only have the one 150W heater, and it looks like I'm going to have to purchase another to maintain the temperature ranges.

Since I'm new to this, I think I'm just gonna start with a fish only tank. I really want to get into a reef tank eventually, but taking baby steps to start off with.

So, first step is to cycle the tank. I'm somewhat impatient person by nature so I went looking for ways to expedite the process, especially since I didn't spend the money on live sand. I was/am needing some structures in my tank, so I went ahead and purchased two medium sized fiji live rocks today. I'm hoping that these will help to jump start the cycle as well.

I'm getting conflicting reports from the 2 local stores. I'm thinking about throwing a couple fish in there to also assist in the cycle and get this thing going (did I mention I'm impatient). One store tells me start with a couple damsels, because they are hardy and adjust well, the other says, no, start with a couple clowns because being tank raised the adapt better. Be curious to know your thoughts and inputs.