New To Forum With Questions

June FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

NHmom

Reaction score
Hi everyone! So excited to join in the discussions. I have been on other fish forums, but this is my first time here!

Ok, so this is my history, and the reason I am here. I have had two FWT aquariums for a couple of years. One 5 gallon simple set up with twinbar platties, and at times lots of them. And my main tank, a 20 gallon planted aquarium. This one has a flourite / river gravel base with an assortment of rocks and various FWT plants. This tank was quite at home with the following community for over two years, three albino corys, two yo-yo loaches (introduced after a snail population became unbearable), five bloodfin tetras, and a small pleco (introduced after the algea, which was being kept in check by the snails, became out of control).

All was well till the entire area suffered an Ice storm which knocked out power to the entire southern part of the state. Needless to say, my emergency measures were good for only so long (back up battery bubbler, hot hands packs taped to the sides, etc) but we were forced to evacuate ourselves after 48 hours of no electricity and the house temperature dropping to 47F. Our electricity was out for about 4 days (which is better than some people who were out for a week or more!). But I came back to as expected two dead aquariums.

The small five gallon I cleaned and put in storage. The 20 gallon, I removed my friends, pruned out a bunch of dead plants, did a 3/4 water change, clean filter pack, etc. Then let the tank run with lights air cycling for about three weeks. Due to the local fish stores being picked clean, I waited a bit longer than I would have liked. So just kept it running with some water changes here or there.