April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Mauigirl

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi,
So I have a few questions for you all.

I recently Separated from my husband of many years. He was a fish fanatic!! Actually bread African lake Cichlids and sold them to the local fish guys. We had more tanks in the basement than I could count.
I never really paid much attention to the care but enjoyed the fish allot.

But Now that he has moved all of them out, I miss them..

My ex was kind enough , when i asked, to give me one of his "Grow out tanks", set up the filter he called a U for (He put really gross looking sponges he called mature into it, I'm worried these are old and no good).
Told me I was good to go for up to X amount of fish..

OK so, the tank is I'm not good with tape measure so bear with me,
4foot long 18 inches deep but only 10 inches tall. he told me it is roughly 30ish gallons.

I went ahead and stocked it as follows...

8x mollies (assorted colors)
4x patties reds and black and whites.
3x dwarf African frogs ( I love these, always have but ex said they were a pain to keep)
4x Jullie corrie cat
3x Bamboo shrimp ( Another one i dearly love, he called em filter shrimp and said to get the bamboo petsmart sold me out cause it isn't true aquatic and will die. )
1x dwarf gourami male
1x twig ( ex called it a Farlowella) cat

I called him over tonight to check it out for me..
He showed up with a API freshwater kit and showed me how to use it.
said all looks ok but maybe a few minor stocking problems ( he wouldn't elaborate)

As I pressured him for info he blurted this website and said " most are good there, wont let you kill em"

Any advise as to am I on the right track here? under / over stocked?

Thank you so much in advance.

Given you have 12 livebearers in the tank, that in a mixed sex group could rapidly overload you with fry, I would not buy any new species.