New Site, New Tank, Need Help

blueboy1

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
hi, i have only just been able to make a topic so here it is, i have a few questions that i am in need of help with, thanks in advance for any comments. So, i received a 200 litre tank and stand from a friend that is 1 metre long x40 cm wide x50 cm tall it is made by juwel with a black stand and i dont know what type of tank it is so if a light goes i wont know if its t4 t5 ect so any ideas? Also i have added the needed chemicals an have had tank running fishless cycle, ive gone for fake plants (sorry if you hate me :) ) and i will take a sample to my fish store before ading fish but i really dont know what fish i want or how many i can add. I am only 16 and im in school often hence fake plants but i do enjoy caring for the tank so i will look after it well, but by all means i am no pro and onl remember picking fish as a little boy for my dads tank which is why i wante my own. Stopping blabbering my questions are;
how many fish can i add?
sizes of fish?
can i have a betta with an angelfish if it is calm?
it will be in my bedroom so i will want a colourful variety of fish if anyone has any ideas. Thanks for comments in advance and im sure there will be other questions i will ask. ;)

If I were you, I would definitely invest in a test kit of some sort, because without daily tests you have no real way of knowing if your tank is cycled (aside from tossing a fish in and seeing if it lives, but I would imagine you don't want to go that route.)

Let's see, 200 litre is about 50 gallons, and 50 cm is about 20", so your tank is big enough for angels, although bettas are not suitable tankmates, IMO.
With angelfish I would definitely research whether any fish I'm considering would be fin-nippers, also any very "hyper" fish like zebra danios may stress them.