FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Gazzaeng

Reaction score
Hi just like to say a quick hello. I'm relatively new to all this I have 240 l tropical tank had it for about 5 months now! I'm sure I will need lots of help along the way! This is my tank hope u you all like or any comments welcome. image.jpg

:hi: to the forum, Gazzaeng; good to have you on board :)

Your tank looks nice; maybe some taller plants? I prefer to have a backing on my tanks; I think it makes the fish feel more secure and show better colour, but it's a personal thing :)

Thank you good to be here! The wood to the left has several large stones behind it tried to recreate holes and hiding places there is also several tall reed plants but they haven't grown yet got a bit carried away when I was cutting them! Iol I also want to create a wall of plants along the Back and I have just installed a co2 system so all plants are still young!
I was told that a backing to the tank can confuse them is that true?? And again thank you for the comments!

I've never heard that about backings!

Most of our aquarium fish (although not all) hug the banks in the wild, where they're safer from predators than they would be out in the open river or stream (or lake). I find a lot of fish are more nervous without a backing on the tank, but I see you've got mostly livebearers and gouramis, and they're more confident, open water fish, although the gouramis would like some floating plants :)

:hi: to the forum.
I agree with fluttermoth about the backing, maybe your thinking of the ones that are like paterned and have plants and fish on them? They could confuse the fish I suppose but I think they would soon figure it out. Most people just use plain backgrounds anyway.