New 45L Hex

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

LiamGoodaire

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Yes another tank already I know ha, its a 45L hexagon tank and just a few questions to ask due to the different shape of the tank.... oh and I'm gettin a fully established filter so cycling shouldn't be too long at all.

1) not really set on what fish to get yet, I'd like an attractive community tank with some reasonably sized fish (when I say reasonably sized I mean not large or small ha) but I am also interested on breeding any ideas?

2) interested in keeping plants as they are much more attractive than artificial, but I don't wanna go down the co2 route and I'm a noob when it comes to plants so any particular plants you'd recommend? Also I know some plants are useful when breeding any in particular?

Cheers in advance if I think of any questions later I will post on here,
Liam

2) interested in keeping plants as they are much more attractive than artificial, but I don't wanna go down the co2 route and I'm a noob when it comes to plants so any particular plants you'd recommend? Also I know some plants are useful when breeding any in particular?
Liam

anubias, java ferns, java moss, and duckweed are some of the easiest plants to care for.

duckweed is a floating plant by the way. you could make a great looking tank simply out of those 4 plants.

With the duckweed, yes just add it and watch it spread,you'l only need an egg cup full. Java fern and Anubias are easy as pie, just remember not to 'plant' them into the substrate they need tying or supergluing onto wood or rocks. Moss is just the same, I glued mine on as my water is too hard for it to attach by itself. Another easy one is bolbitis which you'd treat just the same as the Java fern.