My cycling update thread...

🐠 The poll is open for the February TOTM! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
This is the qt tank... I plan on getting a small heater unless the thermostat reads above 70 and I'm also going to get a few tall silk plants
1113211515.jpg
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
I finished this test at 1:18pm even though I was supposed to test at 10am to 11am... Ammonia is well under .25 and nitrite is way under 1ppm... What should I do? Wait till tomorrow to add more ammonia?
1114211319.jpg
 

Ch4rlie

Moderate Moderating Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator ⚒️
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
8,870
Reaction score
3,187
Location
Oxfordshire, UK
Will do! So, I'll probably be adding it tomorrow then... Just give it a day
Yep, always best to wait until both ammonia and nitrite reads zero then add 3ppm and hope that becomes zero in 24 hours or less.

Getting there.

Patience ;)

My cycling is almost finished as well and just a waiting game for it to completely cycle. Guess I have to be patient too! :lol:
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
Yep, always best to wait until both ammonia and nitrite reads zero then add 3ppm and hope that becomes zero in 24 hours or less.

Getting there.

Patience ;)

My cycling is almost finished as well and just a waiting game for it to completely cycle. Guess I have to be patient too! :lol:
Were in it together! Lol
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
@xxBarneyxx and @Slaphppy7... So I haven't been updating lately but I have been adding 3ppm ammonia about every other day... And nitrites have constantly been under 0.25 but today it seems I've had a small spike to 0.50-1.0ppm and I cant do anything tomorrow cause I'll be gone (I'll actually be gone later today)
1118210827.jpg
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
I'm going to add some more ammonia today so that way maybe it'll finish cycling while I'm gone for my trip
 

xxBarneyxx

Fish Aficionado
Joined
Oct 28, 2006
Messages
3,701
Reaction score
902
Location
Kent, UK
I would just up the ammonia back to 3ppm before you leave and see were its at when you get back. The Nitrite eating bacteria can take awhile to get going so hopefully when you get back it should have moved along a little.

When you get back I would expect things to maybe be zeroed out. Add the ammonia again and check after 24 hours to see what to do next.
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
I would just up the ammonia back to 3ppm before you leave and see were its at when you get back. The Nitrite eating bacteria can take awhile to get going so hopefully when you get back it should have moved along a little.

When you get back I would expect things to maybe be zeroed out. Add the ammonia again and check after 24 hours to see what to do next.
Thanks! I'll add the ammonia now and check it in 4 days lol
 
OP
OP
Rocky998

Rocky998

Kinda crazy, but somehow they let me stay
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
12,857
Reaction score
10,008
Location
NC, U.S.A
So exactly 24hrs after yesterday's 3ppm dose of ammonia it reads at .25ppm ammonia and 0ppm nitrites
1123211850.jpg
 

Ch4rlie

Moderate Moderating Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator ⚒️
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
8,870
Reaction score
3,187
Location
Oxfordshire, UK
Would have expected ammonia to be at 0ppm if nitrite is at 0ppm.

Could be a false reading of ammonia.

Did you double check the tests, do one more check of ammonia as it’s quite common to get false readings especially if made a mistake with number of drops of solution from bottle to test tube.

Also any water sample taken from tank is less than 1 inch of water surface can be a factor, always best to get 5ml sample of water from at least 2 inches below surface of tank water, this way you get a purer sample as water surface scum from can have an effect on results.

I use a clean turkey baster to get water sample from at least 3-4 inches under water surface, saves getting my hands and arm from getting wet as well!
 

Most reactions

trending

Members online

Top