My Bottom Feeder Died =(

Kexmonster

Reaction score
Hi, new to the forum! :D

I am also new to aquariums, so i'm going to give a little background information first. I have a ~5 gallon tank (I dont remember/know how much it is, but i filled in aprox. 5 gallon). I filled this tank with norwegian tap water, and conditioned it with Tetra AquaSafe. I let it be for 1 day before i put in fish (I know that this is way too soon, but it's been 1 week now, and the fish are doing fine).

At first I put in 4 Platties and 2 Ghostshrimp.
2 days later, i put in 1 bottom feeder (sewillia lineolata) and 2 medium big (i'd say there are 4 times bigger than my platties) yellow fish I dont remember the name of.
2 days after that i put in 3 neontetra.

This is too much fish, isnt it?

Anyway, 1,5 days after i put in my bottom feeder, it had died. I think that this is because there is not any algea in the aquarium yet? Because all the other fish are doing great. I did use TetraTabiMin, bottom-feeder-tablets (only once though). The problem was that the fish didnt care about the tablet. I even dropped it on top of him, to startle him so he would freaking move at all. And then he swam the opposite direction of the tablet. I replaced the tablets right next to the fish several times, and he wouldn't aknowledge it at all. The tablet dissolved without beeing touched. How do I get bottom feeders to eat their tablets?