Moving fish into a new tank.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Megsy

Reaction score
Hello,

So, I'm not new to keeping fish, but I'm not quite sure where to ask this question and I'm very new to the prospect of moving fish!

Last month i brought a new 200L tank, the tank has cycled, got all the wood, rocks and plants in and has got the go ahead to add fish (yay!). My plan is to take out all my fish from my current tank, clean and rescape it and have the 'smaller' tank as a betta tank with a few corys and tetras. To do this i will have to move some of my current fish into the new tank as they won't be compatible with the betta.

I've had conflicting information from people and the internet, so my questions are:

1) How would i even go about removing all of my fish, in the least stressful way possible?
2) How would i go about re introducing them to the new tank?
3) How long can fish go without being in a proper set up tank?

If this is going to be too stressful/difficult then obviously ill re think my plans.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Meg

I am assuming the fish are still in the older tank which is still running, and the new tank is now running (no fish). If this is the case, then first ensure the water parameters (GH, pH and temperature) are basically the same in both tanks, and net over the fish into the new tank.