Moonlight Gouramis And Tiger Barbs

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Lanzuis

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone - I am fairly new to the fishkeeping hobby and I have kept them for about 5 months so please excuse my naivity! ^_^

Today I went to my LFS and a pair of Moonlight Gouramis caught my eye, I have a 90Gallon tank and so I thought it would be alright - I had 4 Tiger Barbs but I bought another 6 to limit aggression - but I don't think this has been the case as my larger barbs have been picking on the gouramis and nipping their fins - I don't know if this is to do with them being new additions or not and if it will pass and that is why I am here - will it be alright to keep them in the tank?

Thanks!

No, this combination will almost never work.  Please separate them (which probably means returning the gourami) because if allowed to continue the gourami will be so stressed they will develop health problems and likely die prematurely and perhaps fairly soon.

The Tiger Barb is a species that is prone to fin nipping.  As a species, it may calm down a bit within its own if the numbers are 8 but preferably 10 or more Tiger Barbs.  This deals with the fish itself.  But other species that are slow sedate fish, or those with long fins, should never be combined in the tank with Tiger Barbs as that is just too much of a temptation.

Byron.

I agree with Byron.

If you only have the tiger barbs in the tank, I would just get a bunch of tiger barbs. They make an excellent candidate for a species tank as they are active and fun to watch and you really ought to keep them in higher numbers anyway. You could do a mix of the colors (albino, green, regular) for extra color. Most centerpiece fish are slower movers, like the gourami, so a species tank with tigers is really a cool option. I would do more than thirty tiger barbs if you were to do a species tank.

attibones said:
I agree with Byron.