Missing Zebra Danios!!!

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

wilco

Reaction score
I am relatively new to this fish mullarkey but I think I've got my tank (5months old) about settled now.

My problem is I bought 6 zebra danios and now I'm down to the last one. This would not be so bad if I had found the bodies but I haven't found a trace of any of them!

I also have: 3 female guppies, 2 male guppies, 1 red tailed shark, 3 clown loaches, 2 male and 1 female black phantom tetras and 4 neons. Could any of these have eaten the zebras (and not left a trace)?

One clue: I found a dead phantom yesterday and two of the clown loaches were tucking in to the remains?

Would appreciate any help.

I would say that either your red tail shark or your clown loaches were responsible for the missing daino's. Your guppies might become a food source soon.

Welcome to the Forum wilco...I would have to agree with bigfish, your Redtailed Shark is the likely candidate if they have been eaten.

Just out of curosity do you have a back mounted filter, and if so did you check it? I have found Zebra Danios in our back mounted Aquaclear a few times now.....swimming like crazy in the outflow current and had to shoo them back into the tank :hyper:

Thanks for your suggestions.

I did find one in the back mounted filter and lifted it out - that fish too has now disappeared.

On a bit of a tangent; are those back mounted filters any use? I relied on mine for the first couple of months but since I have put in an under gravel filter the water quality has improved unbelievably!

Cheers.

Welcome wilco,

Glad to have you on board here.

Your back mounted filter or HOB (hang on back) is way better than the undergravel!! In a few months time, have a look see under your tank and see all the gunk that has accumulated under the filter plates!!