Marina Style 60 Aquarium

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

mak

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have just got a Marina Style 60, who else has got one? And how deep can you put heater? Does the top need to be out of the water? sorry about all the questions. 

give us the make and model number of the heater and we can check,

normally heaters will say on them if they are submersible or not

There is a min mark on heater and says the heater must be immersed in water at least up to the min mark. I have gone over the min mark but that is ok, right?

i too have this tank and i'm new to the hobby/obsession.

Help with anything i can, my heater is immersed right up to just below the 'twiddle' switch on top.

all heaters have a "minimum line" this doesn't mean the entire heater and power cord can be submersed

Thanks,  I have seen the same heaters in pics and on YouTube and some of them have been right under water, so obviously safe .  So how far have u got with your aquarium? 

I got tank on Wednesday and got everything in. Just waiting to put fish in. I have/am cycling filter.  Did u get your aquarium today? 

I used bottled bacteria over a four/five day period and then what i suppose everyone refers to as a fish in cycle.
I know many disapprove of this method on here. Through keeping an eye on Water Test Levels and water changes i would say i was relatively succesful, or as others may feel - lucky. The fact i'm also keeping small fish may have helped the process.

what is bottled bacteria? how long did your water stay cloudy for? sorry about all the questions, I have researched but want to get it right.