Lights...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Brendanpat

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi . My tank is 105litre (28 gallon) it came with a 16watt led light . My plants aren't really growing to well . (Algae thrives if I let it)Is 16 watt enough light ? I have it set on a timer for 7.5 hours a day

Hi . My tank is 105litre (28 gallon) it came with a 16watt led light . My plants aren't really growing to well . (Algae thrives if I let it)Is 16 watt enough light ? I have it set on a timer for 7.5 hours a day
All plants are supposed to be low light demand

I'm not an expert, but It may be that you have too much light. Algae is taking up that extra light and growing while your plants are limited by available nutrients and CO2. Is it a new tank or established?

Yes it's only about 2 and a half months . And had to change plants a few weeks ago because they were so bad with algae .I thought maybe too much ,but I was googling and it said about 1-2watt per gallon for low light plants so that would be 28 watt I'd need going by that . But you you think too much ?

What plants and what exact light do you have? While LED lights are great, not all of them are good for plants.

If you are unsure, post a picture of the gear and tank, maybe we can ID them.

You're lights are either too bright or have the wrong color spectrum. Also, it is possible that you have too much or not enough nutrients.

Are you using any fertilizers?

The wattage per gallon is a little out dated. Watt is power consumption.

A lot of low light plants like anubias or java fern take in nutrients from the water. If they do not have those nutrients in the water, they will die.

Swords are also considered low light, but feed heavily from the roots. 9 out of 10 times, you will need to add root tabs or other means of fertilizer into the gravel so they get the nutrients that they need.