Kribensis Size

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Ballkins

Reaction score
I have 2 female Kribs in my 75 Gallon, based on their coloration them seem a little older and are about 2.5-3 inches. This is my first time with any type of cichlid but from my research and talking to people at my LFS they can be a good community fish. There seems to be some bullying going on, so I was wondering if adding 2 males would help with this assuming they paired off. The only issue I'm running into is that the LFS by me only has smaller kribs right now about 1-1.5 inches with less coloration.

Would it be an issue if I introduced them into the environment with 2 older females?

Also open to any other suggestions about how to help with the aggression. The aggressor only seems to target the other female Krib from what I can tell. I feel like there are plenty of hiding spaces for them to claim, outside of that, not sure what else to do.

Hey!

What is your stocking? Do you know your water parameters such as pH, Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate?

Kribensis are both peaceful and aggressive depending on tankmates and set up.

Hey!

What is your stocking? Do you know your water parameters such as pH, Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate?

Kribensis are both peaceful and aggressive depending on tankmates and set up.
I am currently running a 75 gallon with the following fish:

11 Neon tetras
8 tiger barbs
2 female kribs
1 rainbow shark
3 cory catfish
5 mollies
3 goldfish

I know it's an unconventional bunch, but I took over the hobby for my kids hence the 3 gold fish.

pH is around 7.2 which I believe is a little high for what kribs usually prefer, but from what I've read they do ok typically between 6-8. No ammonia or nitrates/ nitrites. I have a decent amount of plants so I think they take all that in.

The aggressive Krib seems to only go after the other one and seems to be ok with the other fish unless they wander into their territory.