Keeping True Sharks.

crimsontsavo

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Does anyone here keep sharks?
Lemons,Bulls,Leopards?
I have been studying for a few years and it caught my intrest.
(I personally like the leopards).

Just wanna know if anyone keeps them on this forum.:D :blink: :crazy:

I do not own, but this reminded me of something-

Last time I was at RMS, they had 2 shark egg cases!! When I cupped my hand over the glass, I could see the baby leopard wiggling inside!! And the cases were only approx $24!!

However, I live in the viscinity of an (ex) SeaWorld, who sells sharks, and I assume egg cases as well to the fish store to sell... VERY cool

Yup, they ship alot of eggs out for sale.
You can get a rather large Leopard shark for about $150.00.
(id wanna start very small hehe easier to handle)
They are just such amazing creatures! Smart too.

Moved this topic to the marine section.

While i know nothing of marine set ups or the keeping of sharks i feel that this would be one tremendous under taking,the sheer size and cost of a set up capable of holding a marine shark would be huge.Sharks are free swimming ocean dwellers so any tank would need to be a minimum of 12 feet long by 5 feet wide for juveniles and god knows how big if you managed to keep one alive to adulthood.

Plus how much you would have to feed it. somthing that big is going to need a substantial amount of food, probably more food than you or anyone in you family eats.

The leopard shark gets to be about six ft long.
You can feed it fish, while not a cheap cheap animal to keep, they dont cost a whole lot to keep up.
The aquarium, you're right, it takes alot to build one.
(thats why I wont be doing it anytime soon)
They need clean conditions,etc.

(sorry i posted in the wrong place,figured sharks would be odd balls,LOL.). :blink:

I like to toss questions like this around, keeps my brain juices flowing,lol.
Cause not many can answer just ONE question, they like to answer the (unspoken) ones as well,LOL.