Journal- My First Time Attempt At Fighting Ich

June FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

blur411

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I'm going to journal my journey of fighting this disease. Please feel free to comment and give advice, since this is my first time.

Backstory:

I have a 55 gallon with male guppies, 1 female guppy fry/young adult (that I got on accident and it was super small and grew into a female). I didn't want to get rid of her so I decided to get some females so I could keep her. I went to where I usually go, PetCo, and another LFS that I haven't had any trouble at and neither of them carried the females. I ended up going to another store a user on here recommended, though they hadn't been there in a few years. The store was pretty dark, and small areas. I bought 5 female guppies, and left the store only to find out that they had ich (or at least by my diagnosis). The store closed 15 minutes after we left, and in addition they didn't take returns on livestock. I got home, and posted on the forums hoping for some answers, but I was running out of time. It was 7PM on a saturday night, and if I was going to do something, I had to act fast because the chain pet stores closed within a couple hours. I didn't have a quarantine tank, I know silly me, that was my first mistake.

Since I didn't get any help quickly, I decided I should go ahead and buy what I needed to have a QT. I didn't want to flush innocent fish, and I couldn't take them back, and I sure as hell wasn't going to put them in my established tank. So I bought a 10 gallon, with a hood light, HOB filter and 50W heater, and thermometer. It was a packaged deal for 50 USD.