Is This Theory True?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

KeTeL1

Reaction score
My theory is that the benifical bacteria in tanks helps break down waste in septic systems. like on the commercial for Ridex how it uses bacteria and enzymes to break down waste. is this a plauseible theory?? ????

Thats how it works! I've seen a show about it!

Believe everything you see on TV do you? :sly:

Can I ask why you specifically think that aquarium bacteria is the same as in septic tanks? Why do you think the theory is correct? At the moment you have given a statement but no evidence as to why you think this. Also maybe explain what the advert claims as I've never seen it.

I'm no expert in this however as far as I am aware in aquariums the only bacteria that make any difference or cause any impact on what is in the water is nitrifying bacteria. Of course these are most probably present in septic tanks as well, as ammonia is also in human waste.

However from what I can make out you are talking about bacteria breaking down the actual waste substance, i.e. the faeces, made from undigested fibrous food. These would be broken down by detritivores, and surely these would not be 'beneficial' in an aquarium, nor would they be able to thrive in a tank as any solid waste that fish produce is (hopefully) removed through the relatively intensive cleaning that a tank goes through every week, if it was left to build up though the tank may eventually become a mini septic tank :D

You mention enzymes but what kind of enzymes do you mean? There are many.

As I said it would be nice if you could explain the theory and the content of the advert in more depth as it is a bit broad at the moment and there is no proposed evidence for me to research and hence I can't really back up or challenge the theory.

Willing (kind of expecting :lol:) to be proven wrong as always :D But would like some proposed evidence.