im usingthis bulb is it okay ?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

kenneth_kpe

Lider op da pises.
Reaction score
well i have a pic of the bulb that i got for my tank, i think it shows the light spectrum, im not really good with reading the chart and would like to learn how to read it..

Attachments

• Image003.jpg
    Image003.jpg
    26.6 KB · Views: 87
I'm not too sure if that spectrum will give you the best growth. The chlorophyll in plants absorbs best at 450 nm and 700nm, the green region, that your bulb peaks at, does not get absorbed. So by the looks of it, the bulb you have does not peak at either 450 or 700 :/ It's still worth a try though :nod:

I dont think that bulb is right for plants, but you could try.
is more like 7,500K due the the lack od red..
It looks a lot like a tri-phoshor find in clothing stores..

one good thing about "Tri-phosphor" is :
"Tri-phosphor lamps retain almost full output over their lifespan, this means they only need replacing when they fail, rather than every 6-12 months as recommended for other tubes to retain high output (however, the characteristics of the spectrum may change).
"

oic, i have 3 of em inside my tank maybe i could replace one or two of em with better lights, so i should look for bulbs with high 450 and 700nm readings ? im using it right now and my plants do grow ok but not really that fast, and i notice that with high light demanding plants err.. forgot the name ( walachichi !?!?!? haha ) the top leaves are starting to turn green and not red so it means my bulb arent really that nice.

So basically thats all that i should look at when i look for plant bulbs ? high 450 and 700 and also light thats around 6500Kelvin ?? :) or am i still missing out on other info ??? :( :( this is confusing.

so is this a better bulb compared to the first one ? its a osram(sylvanna) fluora bulb, took the picture off a catalog (my sister works for osram)