What's new

Identify my Cory

Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 Click here to enter! 🐰

Ol' Timer

Reaction score
Hello, new to the forum but not to fish keeping. Just got given a couple of Corys as rescues, but I don't recognize the specific species. The giver didn't remember where he got them so rather than scrolling through page after page of photos I was hoping someone here might recognize the species. This one is the lager of the two and is 2" long.
Cory.jpg
Thanks ahead of time.

That looks like a pepper cory to me but I am no expert. http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/corydoras-paleatus/

He does look like he was in need of rescue. Make sure you do regular water changes and his (their?) fins should recover. At least 50-60% per week, but more often would be preferable initially.

Note that corydoras do need a sandy substrate because of the way they feed. They also need to be in groups of at least 6, although I would focus on getting these guys into good condition and providing a better substrate before getting any more.

That looks like a pepper cory to me but I am no expert. http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/corydoras-paleatus/

He does look like he was in need of rescue. Make sure you do regular water changes and his (their?) fins should recover. At least 50-60% per week, but more often would be preferable initially.

Note that corydoras do need a sandy substrate because of the way they feed. They also need to be in groups of at least 6, although I would focus on getting these guys into good condition and providing a better substrate before getting any more.