I Want To Set Up A Mixed Amphibian/fish Aquarium

fredgarvin

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I was thinking of making a hybrid aquarium (Amphibians & fish) out of a 10 gallon tank. I thought I might have a slate shelf about 5in wide by a foot long protrude above the water line as a refuge for some frogs and or newts. I think I could attach "legs" of rectangular slate with aquarium cemet to the underside and leave the tank 2/3 full for some fishies. Any advice, comments, insults? Posted this under "Hardwear" too. Have successfully kept 2 kinds of newts and African Aquatic frogs. Experienced aquarist but a total newbie to the forum.

I was thinking of making a hybrid aquarium (Amphibians & fish) out of a 10 gallon tank. I thought I might have a slate shelf about 5in wide by a foot long protrude above the water line as a refuge for some frogs and or newts. I think I could attach "legs" of rectangular slate with aquarium cemet to the underside and leave the tank 2/3 full for some fishies. Any advice, comments, insults? Posted this under "Hardwear" too. Have successfully kept 2 kinds of newts and African Aquatic frogs. Experienced aquarist but a total newbie to the forum.
I think that your idea for a setup is a wonderful idea but if you want to put newts frogs and fish together the tank might be crowded, as a rule of thumb one inch of fish for every gallon, so make sure you measure how many gallons of water you put in the tank. I have some platies and would recomend them for any tank, although i have five new baby platies they are hardy fish, will eat anything, and are very peaceful community fish. You could always instead of glueing a platform for the frogs and newts you could make a sort of vivarium and slope a hill of rocks that are out of the water

well what ur talking about is called plaudarium i think and I made one this sommer and the best way to go about doing this would be