Hybreeding For Dummies?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

hawkdaddy

Reaction score
Hey guys. Not as if i have enough things to do with my tanks, i recently read somewhere that it wasn't too difficult to cross platies and swords. I have had great success breeding platies in the past, and easily have the tankspace to do it. As is said, i'm new to the whole hybrid breeding thing, so please bear with me. Thanks, Hawkdaddy :good:

Hey guys. Not as if i have enough things to do with my tanks, i recently read somewhere that it wasn't too difficult to cross platies and swords. I have had great success breeding platies in the past, and easily have the tankspace to do it. As is said, i'm new to the whole hybrid breeding thing, so please bear with me. Thanks, Hawkdaddy :good:

Commercially seen platys and swords are already a mixture of platy/sword

If you really must cross breed then simply keep only one opposing gender of each species

You need to start with a virgin female.

Take several fry and keep them on their own, any males that start to sex out remove ASAP.
Once females are fully mature you can then try.

Do not work with shop fish as they can store sperm for several months so any fry can not be proven to be a cross.

to create a Variegated Platy or Variatus Platy you cross a platy and a swordtail

to create a Variegated Platy or Variatus Platy you cross a platy and a swordtail

This is not correct "Variatus Platy" is infect a wild platy from Mexico

It's scientific name is Xiphophorus variatus. Their not a cross breed.
The difference between them and X. macaulats is very little, it's not colouration but fin ray and gill racker counts.

The difference between them and X. macaulats is very little, it's not colouration but fin ray and gill racker counts.