Hormone use in commercial fish breeding, how prevalent is it…

Magnum Man

Supporting Member
Tank of the Month 🏆
Fish of the Month 🌟
Reaction score
I’m going to start on food fish, then move into aquarium fish.. so supposedly the supplier of Tilapia I’ve been using, claims no hormones are used in their production, but claim many other producers in the industry, use it to produce more male tilapia, as the harvest weight is almost double, on a male, over a female, in a set time, and you can buy them sexed as males because of the production gains…

I’m not very good at sexing fish, but on the Emperor Tetras ( Nematobrycon palmeri )
and their line bred offspring, the males have blue eyes, and the females green… I have 10-12 of these and their crosses, and I’ve only identified 2 females… wondering if the commercial breeders may use hormones, which on purpose or not, effect the male / female ratios… I thought I had read somewhere, that often harder to breed species, get a little chemical help… most people prefer males for the prettier colors, so it makes dollars and cents if they can produce more males… and at that point, the producers probably would prefer we didn’t breed them…
thoughts????

Last edited:
I read there is ongoing research on using hormones for sex control particularly in the salmon industry.

As you can imagine, it's a dirty secret of the trade. No one likes to admit to it, but the anecdotal evidence is there.
I have had a fancy Discus breeder try to teach me to use a hypodermic to spawn his fish - he thought I was an idiot because I didn't inject the Apistogramma I bred at the time. His claim was that most Russian Discus breeders used hormones to get the numbers they needed, I can't vouch for that. And I said no.
I have used, once to see if it worked, hormones with Thai writing on the jar. It was what they used to make linebred gourmis extremely red, and yes, it worked. I was hoping to myth bust, but noooo.