Hi i am new to keeping fish so advice is welcomed

Fayelea

Reaction score
16994585341384565272404120174248.jpg
Hi everyone i have just been given a 250 liters fresh water tank as a gift with tropical fish but unfortunately i don't know alot and i want to treat my fish well so any advice is welcome. My tank was set up by professionals so i think that part is okay . My family set it up while i was on holiday and they thought i would love it since one of my favorite things to do is go to aquariums and i do love it but i am just a bit worried that i might kill a fish . Help and advice is appreciated ❤

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

I would first test the parameters (ph, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate) to see what they are.

The nitrogen cycle is when the beneficial bacteria stabilizes by converting ammonia into the less, but still toxic, nitrite, and then into nitrate.
Ammonia and nitrite she stay at 0 at all times, except during cycling.
Any traces of ammonia above .25ppm can be lethal, as well as nitrites above .5ppm. Nitrate is a lot less toxic, reaching 100ppm before causing problems.
As far as text kits go, I recommend API master.
You can find the hardness of your water by measuring gh (general hardness). Some fish do better in harder water, while some thrive in softer water.

Make sure you always dechlorinate any new water you add to the tank. Seachem Prime is a good conditioner to use.

For foods, offer a wide variety. Fluval’s Bug Bites are good for carnivores. Sinking algae wafers can be good for more herbivorous fish. Try to feed frozen foods as well.

Live plants can help keep water stable, as well as add a natural feel to the tank.

I like to keep aquarium salt around in case the fish get sick.

That's a really thoughtful gesture from your family! Can you speak to the people who set it up for advice and guidance moving forwards if you need it?