FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Stefan3289

Fishaholic
Reaction score
So I have a 29 gallon sand substrate tank:

Stocking was:

8 cories (a variety)
9 tiger barbs (3 green, 3 albino, 3 regular)

I returned one of the green ones since he was terrorizing the other barbs as he was bigger. One of the albinos died and this morning I found one of the regular ones was dead inside on of the fake plants. The albino that was the “alpha” of the tank is now hiding behind a temple. This is my first time with barbs and I am confused what is happening with them

So I have a 29 gallon sand substrate tank:

Stocking was:

8 cories (a variety)
9 tiger barbs (3 green, 3 albino, 3 regular)

I returned one of the green ones since he was terrorizing the other barbs as he was bigger. One of the albinos died and this morning I found one of the regular ones was dead inside on of the fake plants. The albino that was the “alpha” of the tank is now hiding behind a temple. This is my first time with barbs and I am confused what is happening with them
Did you cycle the tank before adding fish?

Yes I cycled the tank. This all happened over the course of about two week (after about a month of the tank being cycled and slowly adding the fish in. I quarantined them all before adding them into the tank.

What are the water test results for today? What size tank and are the cories showing any problems? How are the remining barbs looking?

Water tests are:
Ammonia: .25 ppm
Nitrate : 0 ppm
Nitrite : 0 ppm
PH: 7

I’ll do a 60% water change rn for the ammonia.

It’s a 29 gallon marine land the dimensions are 30” by 12” by 18”

The cories all look great it’s just the barbs acting strange (I at least think since I’ve never had them)

The other barbs it seems like one of the regular ones is chasing them around while sometimes two of them follow him. The other two pretty much just hide