Hello all! New to the forums!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

johndfritz

Reaction score
My name is John, just wanted to say hello and introduce myself.
I am fairly new to the hobby (three months or so), though we did have a family tank when I was younger, back then I knew nothing about what it takes to properly keep fish. I have learned quite a bit since starting out a few months back.
I currently have a live bearer tank set up (40 long) that is doing well, consisting of guppies and platys so far.
That tank is a product of a learning curve, it started out as two platys in a 10 gallon, which I learned was much more difficult to keep then the bigger volume tanks due to water fluctuations. I bought a 20 gallon Hex shortly after that the Guppy males were living in, which taught me the pains of those tall up-to-your-arm-pit hex tanks, not to mention 20 gallons is not much better for fluctuation. Luckily, even though I cycled those tanks with the fish, they are alive and well, with new tank makes (the females) in my fully cycled 40 long, which pretty much had all the cycled media from the other tanks moved to it when I set it up. I have a 55 gallon set up as well, that I am doing a fishless cycle on. I plan to make that a new world/american cichlid tank when its ready.

Sorry for the book, just thought I would share my journey so far while introducing myself.
Not only have I researched daily for the past few months about all things fish as I fall deeper into the hobby. but google has constantly brought me here in response to questions I ask, usually on threads that already had similar questions asked, so I figured it was time to actually sign up! That being said, there are some very knowledgeable and helpful people on here and I would like to thank you all for your help to myself and others.

Here is a photo of the 40 gallon tank in case anyone is interested!
Phone pic so sorry for the blur!