Guppies pregnant or overfed?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

drossean

Reaction score
I have a few guppies raised from fry in a 10 gallon - one male and three female. Wondering if these females are pregnant or if I am overfeeding - they are about 3 1/2 months old and just keep getting bigger but no fry. Do they look pregnant or overfed? Can the gravid spot get stretched out if they're overweight, or only during pregnancy? They like to pick off the blackworms that live in the substrate so I worry about bloating. I'm very new to guppies and want to make sure they are healthy. Thanks!

guppy1.jpg
guppy2.jpg

If they’re 3 and a half months old then it’s probably pregnancy. Guppies can become sexually mature at 3 months, but people tend to wait a bit longer before breeding them, until the guppies are about 1 inch long.

Guppies give birth every month, so expect a fry drop in a couple weeks. Since the ladies are so young you probably won’t get that many, and you should prep a second tank for them if you don’t have one already. Guppies are known to occasionally eat their offspring.

It’s best to leave the lady in her tank (and net out the fry afterwards) or move her to a birthing tank at least a week before her drop date so that she isn’t stressed and either holds or aborts the fry and then remove her when she gets some of her energy back. DO NOT USE A MESH BREEDING/FRY NET IN THE MAIN TANK TO SEPARATE THEM. NEVER WORKS AND MIGHT STRESS YOUR LADY TO DEATH.

A female guppy can give birth 8 times from a single mating so even if you separate the genders you may be in for a ride lololol

Thank you so much! The male is about an inch long and the females are much larger - just under 2 inches. I'll keep my eye out for babies! I've got a 5 gallon I can move them to when they're born.