Green string algae

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Pd7333

Reaction score
Hi guys

Apologies in advance as with most forums the following question has no doubt been asked and answered many times, though being non forum and pc literate, I hope you do not mind.

I've had my 60l tank up and running for about a month. I started with one small black catfish. A week later I added 6 neons and a few shrimps. Last weekend I added 4 or 5 red eyed tetras and some bottom feeding striped fish (sorry don't know the name).

All was fine for a week or so then literally overnight my stones went green with algae and I noticed the stringy algae on the artificial plants. It's getting worse and was hoping someone maybe able to tell me the cause and remedy.

I've read certain plants will help as well as certain fish. I don't want to upset the fish by draining/cleaning completely (not sure if this will or will not effect the fish).

Total newbie. Aquarium purchased for the kids. Photo attached.

Attachments

• IMG_20201021_174724.jpg
    IMG_20201021_174724.jpg
    308.5 KB · Views: 75
Hello and welcome.
Yes, it's annoying that aquariums do this. I have experienced every type of algae there is and still haven't won the war. These measures have helped though:-
  • ensure the tank does not get a lot of sunlight by locating away from windows/ skylights
  • remove as much algae as possible during weekly maintenance. This is a real chore but the more you leave in, the more it will multiply. As the weeks go by you will notice a reduction in algae.
  • restrict tank lighting to six hours a day and reduce the intensity of the light if it is dimmable.
  • reduce feeding, excess nutrients feed the algae
  • keep the tank and filter clean to reduce excess nitrates. Rinse the filter sponges/ media in used tank water to remove the sludge
  • have live plants, especially floating plants, to use the nutrients and shade the tank.