Gourami, over population leads to peacefulness?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Rosegardener

Reaction score
I was watching this youtube video, where hundreds of bettas, mostly if not all female in a 55 gallon tank , with no noticeable aggressions. That led me to think back on other gourami in fish shops in Asia, always way over populated but also few noticeable aggressions. We are talking about 30-40 dwarf gourami in a 20 g tank or something like that. Those gourami, say dwarf, once moved from that overpopulated shop tank to our home, with just another or another couple of gourami? Fights, sometimes, fight to kill.

Could shoulder to shoulder overcrowd be the key to gourami peacefulness? When one was surrounded by so many potential enemies, one would think three times before starting a fight? Also with whom to fight as there are so many.

OK I have no hands on knowledge or experience, but had a tank with 3 blue gourami that was never ending aggressions, chasing and fighting til one was killed.

The overcrowded situation is more likely to be highly stressful to the fish who have no room to set up territories and just struggle to cope with so many other fish near them.

The fish might look ok while you are there, but who is to say how many dead fish have been removed in the morning before you look at the tank.

Most gouramis and some Betta species are extremely territorial and need space. Other species of gourami and Betta are peaceful and you can keep groups of them in the same tank. If you want a group of them, buy fish that are peaceful and naturally live in groups.

What is it in humans that we always seem to try to persuade to keep social fish as single, schoolingfish in pairs and the other way around.?

The shown vid shows the same effect as in overcrowded displaytanks in any LFS in which gouramis "live" together "peacefully".